Events in the verification system are classified based on severity, on a scale of 1-5. All events at levels L2 to L5 are considered possible forgeries, and an error message is therefore sent from the system. An event that is considered critical is classified at level L5 and an alert-ID is then sent out together with the error message for identification and handling of the error message.

Who that is notified depends on the classification of the event:

Event level: Who is notified?
L1 No alert
L2 End user who performed the transaction
L3 End user and Nomvec
L4 End user, Nomvec and EMVO 
L5 End user, Nomvec, EMVO, MAH (or OBP) and  NCA (Statens legemiddelverk)


All events in EMVS are logged in an Audit Trail for traceability, in accordance with the directive (EU 2016/161 Art. 35.1 (g)).  

Which level an error message receives depends on both the degree of severity and the dynamics of both the national NMVS and the EU Hub. For example, undo an active package is a transaction that will result in a level 4 notification, while attempting to check out a package that has already been checked out elsewhere will result in a level 5 alert.

This logic is dynamic and can changed over time.

The following diagram shows the relationship between exceptions, Notifications, alerts and alert-ID:

EMVS Alerts and Notifications (source: EMVO-00402 – EMVS Alerts and Notifications v1.0)  

Nomvec is following EMVOs “Best Practice on Alert Handling”. This Guideline is published in EMVOs Knowledge database.